Documentation Index

Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.board.com/llms.txt

Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

About Design and Play Modes

Prev Next

💡This article contains version changes.
Spot the light bulb icon? That means you’ll find helpful details about what’s changed across versions. Read more about version changes here.

The Capsules section of Board offers two operating modes: Play Mode and Design Mode.

  • When Play Mode is active, you can only view and navigate through existing Capsules.

  • When Design Mode is active, you can create new Capsules or perform specific actions on existing Capsules.

Switch between Design and Play Modes

You can easily switch between Play Mode and Design Mode by pressing the F4 key. Additionally, you can switch between these modes by clicking on the Play icon ( contents/assets/images/play.png ) located in the Top Menu of the Capsule workspace while in Design Mode and by clicking on the Design icon contents/assets/images/layout.png located in the sliding menu while in Play Mode.

contents/assets/images/sliding menu design mode.png

Please note that Design and Play Mode in a Capsule are analogous to, but different from, Edit and Play Mode in a Presentation.

💡 Design Mode change tracking

In versions prior 15.0x and earlier, Design Mode change tracking is not available. This was introduced in 15.1.

Your changes are recognized when you switch to Design Mode from a Play Mode Screen that has applied changes. This prevents Power Users and Developers from saving unwanted Screen changes by mistake.

If changes are made before switching to Design Mode

A warning toast appears the first time you enter Design Mode if changes were made in Play Mode prompting you to save or discard changes.

The "SAVE" and "DISCARD ALL" buttons appear in the top bar immediately after the switch from Play to Design Mode if changes were made so you can review the changes before saving.

When “SAVE” and “DISCARD ALL” buttons appear

The "SAVE" and "DISCARD ALL" buttons also appear when the Screen state (Design/Play Mode) changes through:

  • Go to Screen actions that keep the source selection.

  • Drill-to-Screen actions on the target Screen.

  • Apply Selection to Screen and Block Procedure actions.

  • Go To Previous Screen actions that restore a previous Screen state.

  • Loading the Screen from the browser history.